LibGuides: Counselling and Spirituality: Journal citation reports

About journal articles

If you are looking for a scholarly article, make sure to limit your search results to peer-reviewed articles. Peer-reviewed (or refereed) journals are scholarly journals that only publish articles that have passed through the process of peer-review: widely accepted indicator of high quality scholarly content of the articles. During this process the articles are evaluated by the recognized scholars in the field and are recommended or rejected for publication in a spesific journal.

Many databases allow you to limit your search results to scholarly peer-reviewed publications either by cheking the box "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" under the limit search option or by narrowing results by source type.

If you would like to find more information on a spesific periodicals, you can consult Ulrichsweb

Ulrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.

How to create citation report in Web of Science

Software for citation metrics

Publish or Perish is a free software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations. It uses Google Scholar and Microsoft Academic Search to obtain the raw citations, then analyzes these and presents the metrics of total number of papers and total number of citations, average citations per paper, citations per author, papers per author, and citations per year, the age-weighted citation rate and more.

Citation analysis

Many subject databases provide “Cited by” links.

Google Scholar
By logging into your Google account, you can set up a search alert for scholarly articles indexed to Google. Use the alert icon at the top right hand side of the screen. Look for the "Cited by" button to see how often this article was cited by other scholars.
SCOPUS
A comprehensive database for scientific, technical and medical information, containing 12,900 journal titles from 4,000 publishers, and abstracts going back to 1966. It provides searching capability, linking to full-text sources, cited references, saved search and alerting feature.
Web of Science
Covers key research journals in science, engineering, medicine, social sciences and humanities and is useful for searching by cited reference.

Journal impact factor

Journal Citation Reports
Unique resource for journal evaluation. It provides a systematic and objective way of determining the relative importance of journals within their subject categories.
Scopus Journal Analyzer
Using citations from over 15,000 peer-reviewed journals from 4,000 publishers, the Scopus Journal Analyzer enables you to compare up to 10 journals simultaneously, back to 1996.