Skip to Main Content

Citation & Reference Guide

A research guide that contains information on different citation styles and examples on how to use them.

Chicago Citations and References, 18th Edition

The following is a summary of current Chicago Style citation guidelines. However, this page cannot address all citation matters. For further examples, more comprehensive explanations, and the most up-to-date information, please consult the Chicago 18th ed. footnotes and bibliography handout available at the bottom of this page and in the left-hand menu. 

Also available:

  • Chicago Manual of Style, 18th edition (find it at our Citing and Writing Station)
  • Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 9 th edition (official Turabian guide; find it at our Citing and Writing Station)
  • Chicago Citation Quick Guide
  • Turabian Citation Quick Guide

 

Important notes: 

  • New in Chicago Style, 18th edition:
    • A place of publication is no longer required in footnotes and bibliography entries of books.
    • The page range for a cited chapter in an edited book is no longer required in bibliography entries (it was never required in footnotes).
  • Electronic sources: DOI is preferable as a source locator. Only if a source does not have a DOI can you provide a URL or the name of the database.
  • Each footnote must have a corresponding bibliography entry.
  • The first time you cite a source, use the long version of the footnote; all subsequent citations follow the shortened format: last name of author, shortened version of title, and page number (see Chicago 18th ed. handout for examples of this). The abbreviation ibid. is no longer used.
  • Two or more authors: Pay attention to the order in which author names (first and last names) are indicated in bibliography entries. Only the name of the first author is inverted (last name, first name); other authors’ names are listed in the following order: first name last name. Ex.: Bonneville, Luc, Martine Lagacé and Sylvie Grosjean.
    • Regardless of document type, use the examples provided under “Book,” and combine with the appropriate source format.

Select your resource (for even more examples, please consult the Chicago 18th ed. handout available in the left-hand menu or at the bottom of this page).

 

Book

For books with multiple authors, please consult the Chicago 18th ed. handout available in the left-hand menu or at the bottom of this page.

Footnote Components

First Name Last Name, Title of Book (Publisher, year of publication), page number, DOI or URL or database.
Reference Components

Last name, First name. Title of Book. Publisher, year of publication. DOI or URL or database.
Footnote Example

1. Ken Coates, #IdleNoMore and the Remaking of Canada (University of Regina Press, 2015), 174, https://doi.org/10.1515/9780889773448.
Reference Example
Coates, Ken. #IdleNoMore and the Remaking of Canada. University of Regina Press, 2015. https://doi.org/10.1515/9780889773448.

Chapter of an Edited Book

For more examples, please consult the footnotes and bibliography Chicago 18th ed. handout.

Footnote Components

First Name Last Name, "Title of Chapter," in Book Title: Subtitle, ed. Editor First Name Last Name (Publisher, year), page number, DOI or URL or database.
Reference Components

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Chapter or Article." In Book Title: Subtitle, edited by Editor First Name Surname. Publisher, year. DOI or URL or database.
Footnote Example

1. Jerrold J. Katz, “The Realm of Meaning,” in Communication, Language, and Meaning: Psychological Perspectives, ed. George A. Miller (Basic Books, 1973), 37.
Reference Example

Katz, Jerrold J. “The Realm of Meaning.” In Communication, Language, and Meaning: Psychological Perspectives, edited by George A. Miller. Basic Books, 1973.

Translated Book

Footnote Components

Author First Name Last Name, Title of Book, trans. Translator First Name Last Name (Publisher, year of publication), page number, DOI or URL or database.
Reference Components

Author Last name, First name. Title of Book. Translated by Translator First Name Last Name. Publisher, year of publication. DOI or URL or database.
Footnote Example

1. Michel Foucault, The Birth of the Clinic: An Archeology of Medical Perception, trans. Alan Mark Sheridan (Routledge, 2003), 45.
Reference Example Foucault, Michel. The Birth of the Clinic: An Archeology of Medical Perception. Translated by Alan Mark Sheridan. Routledge, 2003.

Journal Article

Footnote Components

Author First Name Last Name, "Article Title," Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (year): page number, DOI or URL or database.
Reference Components

Last Name, First Name. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (year): Page range of article. DOI or URL or database.
Footnote Example

1. Patrick G. Lowery and John D. Burrow, “Concentrated Disadvantage, Racial Disparities, and Juvenile Institutionalization Within the Context of Attribution Theory,” Criminal Justice Studies 32, no. 4 (2019): 344, https://doi.org/10.1080/1478601X.2019.1660964.

Reference Example

Lowery, Patrick G., and John D. Burrow. “Concentrated Disadvantage, Racial Disparities, and Juvenile Institutionalization Within the Context of Attribution Theory.” Criminal Justice Studies 32, no. 4 (2019): 330-355. https://doi.org/10.1080/1478601X.2019.1660964.

Newspaper, Magazine, or News Website Article; Blog Post

For more examples, please consult the footnotes and bibliography Chicago 18th ed. handout.

Footnote Components

 First Name Last Name of Author, “Title of Article,” Name of Publication, Month day, year of publication, URL.
Reference Components Author Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Name of Publication, Month day, year of publication. URL.
Footnote Example

1. Bruce Deachman, “Parents March, Sing in Support of Teachers,” Ottawa Citizen, March 8, 2020, https://ottawacitizen.com/news/local-news/parents-march-sing-in-support-of-teachers
Reference Example Deachman, Bruce. “Parents March, Sing in Support of Teachers.” Ottawa Citizen, March 8, 2020. https://ottawacitizen.com/news/local-news/parents-march-sing-in-support-of-teachers.

Thesis or Dissertation

For more examples, please consult the footnotes and bibliography Chicago 18th ed. handout.

ootnote Components

First Name Last Name, "Title: Subtitle" (type of thesis or dissertation, University Name, year), page number(s), DOI or URL or database.
Reference Components

Last Name, First Name. "Title: Subtitle." Type of thesis or dissertation, University Name, year. DOI or URL or database.
Footnote Example

1. Masoumeh Joshan, “#MeToo Movement in Iran: From Self-Blame to Sisterhood” (master’s thesis, University of Ottawa, 2024), 43, http://dx.doi.org/10.20381/ruor-30071.
Reference Example Joshan, Masoumeh. “#MeToo Movement in Iran: From Self-Blame to Sisterhood.” Master’s thesis, University of Ottawa, 2024. http://dx.doi.org/10.20381/ruor-30071.

Webpage

For authored webpages, please use the newspaper, magazine, or news website article/blog post template.

Footnote Components

“Title of Webpage,” Name of Website or Entity Responsible for Content, date of publication, revision, or access, URL.
Reference Components Name of Website or Entity Responsible for Content. “Title of Webpage.” Date of publication, revision, or access. URL.
Footnote Example

1. “Jean-Léon Allie Library Policies,” Saint Paul University, accessed October 20, 2025, https://ustpaul.ca/en/jean-leon-allie-library-and-archives/jean-leon-allie-library-policies/.
Reference Example Saint Paul University. “Jean-Léon Allie Library Policies.” Accessed October 20, 2025. https://ustpaul.ca/en/jean-leon-allie-library-and-archives/jean-leon-allie-library-policies/.

Government Publication or Report

Government publications and reports come in many different formats but we can only provide one here; for more examples, please consult the footnotes and bibliography Chicago 18th ed. handout.

Footnote Components

Government Department, Title of Report: Subtitle, (Government Department, Publication Year), URL.
Reference Components

Government Department. Title of Report: Subtitle. Name of Publisher. Catalogue no. XXXXX. Government Department, Publication Year. URL.
Footnote Example

1. Statistics Canada, Canada’s Black Population: Education, Labour and Resilience, (Statistics Canada, 2020), https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/n1/en/pub/89-657-x/89-657-x2020002-eng.pdf?st=v7OEaeqo.
Reference Example

Statistics Canada. Canada’s Black Population: Education, Labour and Resilience. Ethnicity, Language and Immigration Thematic Series. Catalogue no. 89-657-X2020002. Statistics Canada, 2020. https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/n1/en/pub/89-657-x/89-657-x2020002-eng.pdf?st=v7OEaeqo.

Social Media Content

In place of a title, quote up to the first 280 characters of the post (just enough for the right post to be identified).

For more examples, please consult the footnotes and bibliography Chicago 18th ed. handout.

Footnote Components

 First Name Last Name of Author OR Name of Organization/Group/Corporate Entity/Author (@username), “Text of publication,” Name of Platform, Month day, year of publication, URL.
Reference Components Last Name, First Name of Author OR Name of Organization/Group/Corporate Entity/Author (@username). “Text of publication.” Name of Platform, Month day, year of publication. URL.
Footnote Example

1. Jean-Léon Allie Library and Archives (@bibliospu), “Votre carte étudiante de l'USP = votre carte de bibliothèque,” Instagram, September 12, 2025, https://www.instagram.com/p/DOgGBSLj7aK/.
Reference Example Jean-Léon Allie Library and Archives (@bibliospu). “Votre carte étudiante de l'USP = votre carte de bibliothèque.” Instagram, September 12, 2025. https://www.instagram.com/p/DOgGBSLj7aK/.

PowerPoint Slides

Neither Chicago Style nor Turabian Style provides instructions on how to cite course material. The following is just one possible format to follow. We suggest that you check with your professor.

Footnote Components

First Name Last Name of Professor, “Title of Presentation/Lecture/Slides” (type of content, Course Code and Name, Name of University, City, Province, Month day, year of lecture), Name of Platform.
Reference Components Last Name, First Name of Professor. “Title of Presentation/Lecture/Slides.” Type of content, Course Code and Name, Name of University, City, Province, Month day, year of lecture. Name of Platform.
Footnote Example

1. Jean-François Rioux, “Class #3: History of Conflict Studies” (PowerPoint slides, ECS2304: Introduction to Conflict Studies, Saint Paul University, Ottawa, On., September 23, 2025), Brightspace.

Reference Example Rioux, Jean-François. “Class #3: History of Conflict Studies.” PowerPoint slides, ECS2304: Introduction to Conflict Studies, Saint Paul University, Ottawa, On., September 23, 2025. Brightspace.

YouTube, Vimeo, or Other Online Video

In this case, the author is the main subject of the video, such as a presenter, interviewee, artist, journalist, director, etc.; it is not the account or organization who created the video and put it online. In rare cases where no such person exists or can be identified, the footnote and the bibliography entry begin with the title of the video.

For more examples, please consult the footnotes and bibliography Chicago 18th ed. handout.

Footnote Components

First Name Last Name of Author, “Title of Video,” Name of Publisher or Entity Responsible for Content, City, Province of recording if available and applicable, Name of Platform, length of video, URL.
Reference Components

Last Name, First Name of Author. “Title of Video.” Name of Publisher or Entity Responsible for Content, City, Province of recording if available and applicable, Name of Platform or description of format, length of video. URL.
Footnote Example

1. Alejandra Ortega, “Grammar: Active and Passive Voice,” Purdue OWL, February 1, 2019, YouTube, 4 min., 22 sec., http://youtu.be/GEP-8lFTKKg.

Reference Example

 Ortega, Alejandra. “Grammar: Active and Passive Voice.” Purdue OWL. February 1, 2019. Video, 4 min., 22 sec. http://youtu.be/GEP-8lFTKKg