Theology

Data on religion in America and internationally.

"The North American Religion Atlas (NARA) provides access to resources for the study and teaching of North American religious history within a geographical and multimedia framework. Using mapping technology, users can view data on religion at national, state or county levels".

Texts relating to the major world religions, as well as many lesser known topics in English translation and, in some cases, in the original language.

"Early Christian Writings is the most complete collection of documents from the first two centuries with translations and commentary. Includes the New Testament, Apocrypha, Gnostics, and Church Fathers."

"The Bible Gateway is a tool for reading and researching scripture online -- all in the language or translation of your choice! It provides advanced searching capabilities, which allow readers to find and compare particular passages in scripture based on keywords, phrases, or scripture reference."

It is a major collection of electronic resources relating to the ancient world, comprising scholarly essays, maps, more than 15,000 images, original language texts, translations, and philological tools.

"This site contains an online Commentary on the writings of the nineteenth century existentialist philosopher Søren Aabye Kierkegaard. Information on every published work and article (including many unfinished writings and journal entries) is presented here with publication data, quotes, detailed commentary, and images."

" Handwritten well over 1600 years ago, this manuscript contains the Christian Bible in Greek, including the oldest complete copy of the New Testament. Its heavily corrected text is of outstanding importance for the history of the Bible and the manuscript – the oldest substantial book to survive Antiquity"

A massive collection of texts, including a subsection called Religiosa, "Over 3700 texts, opera omnia and holy books in 40 languages from christian and other religions." The site features hypertext concordances.

"The Center for Reformed Theology and Apologetics (CRTA) is dedicated to providing biblically sound online resources for the edification of God's people. The Center is committed to the system of doctrine known as Calvinism, which we see to be the most biblically faithful systematization of the Bible's teachings."

This is an excellent guide to electronic primary texts in theology, organized under these headings: Christology; Trinity, Faith and Revelation; Ecclesiology; Christian Anthropology; Christian Foundations of Violence and Nonviolence. (Archived)

"This site is for persons who function as public professionals, and anyone else interested in the public sphere. The aim is to provide a forum for these various public professionals to discuss the role of public theology in public life."

"The Center of Theological Inquiry was founded in 1978 to encourage advanced research into the content and significance of the Christian faith and to promote its critical engagement with non-theological disciplines, various religious traditions, and other forms of spirituality."

"Housed in the Department of Religious Studies at the University of Virginia, the Project on Lived Theology is a Lilly Endowment initiative that seeks to understand the way theological convictions shape the everyday patterns and practices of particular communities. The Project also endeavors to demonstrate the importance of theological ideas in the public conversation about religion and social responsibility."

This site offers information about historical and contemporary theology, from a conservative point of view. Maintained by Michael Vlach.

"The Woodstock Theological Center is an independent nonprofit institute at Georgetown University that engages in theological and ethical reflection on topics of social, economic, business, scientific, cultural, religious, and political importance. The Center does research, conducts conferences and seminars, and publishes books and articles."

An excellent collection of guides to print materials. Subject headings: New Testament; Christology; Early Church; Medieval Christianity; Reformation; Spirituality. Compiled by Fr. William Harmless, S.J.

Maintained by Australian theologian Ben Myers.

A collection of essays and books on a wide variety of topics in theology and religious studies, by reputable scholars. Headings: The Bible; Local Church; Communication; Theology; Practical Theology; Theologians; Culture; Social Issues; Religious Sociology; Education; History of Religion; Ethics; Missions; Churches and Society. Also provided are indexes by author and subject, and a search feature. A superb resource. Maintained by William F. Fore.

"The following standard abbreviations and acronyms for theological journals and Biblical commentaries are found in academic literature in many languages."

"The online bibliography Theology and Peace contains more than 100,000 titles subject indexed using descriptors. Literature relevant to research into peace ethics from the individual disciplines of theology and other sciences has been taken into account."

This is the largest association of scholars of religion in North America. The web site provides information about meetings, publications, programs, and public affairs issues.

"The Canadian Theological Society was founded in 1955 to promote theological reflection and writing in a Canadian context. As a community of theologians we draw our membership from and attempt to serve three distinct, yet interrelated, institutions – the university, the seminary, and the church."

SST exists "to promote excellence in the study of Christian Theology by facilitating and shaping theological thought, conversation and community. In particular, the Society's object is to identify and discuss important themes, questions and dialogues which call for theological engagement; explore the nature of and to foster theological integrity, responsibility and vocation in academy, church and other areas of public life."

"North American Academy of Liturgy is an ecumenical and inter-religious association of liturgical scholars who work to promote and support liturgical research, publication, and dialogue at the scholarly level."

"The North American Patristics Society is an organization dedicated to the study of the history and theology of early Christianity."

"The Academy of Catholic Theology’s principal purpose is to foster theological work of the highest intellectual standard that is faithful in the Spirit to the Revelation of God in Christ. Members of the Academy seek the integration of the sacred sciences and their related subdisciplines; they further value the role of philosophical investigation, especially metaphysics, in the integration of faith and reason."